PDA

View Full Version : Lawrence Keeney

lkeeney
09-13-2005, 10:15 PM
I am a retired Engineering Manager who is now trying to get the right side of my brain to work

I started back into photography again when I retired. I looked for some place where I could volunteer my time and found the local BMX track needed a web page. I deisgned a web page for them and then realized I needed some photos for the site. I bought a couple of digital cameras, but none of them were good enough to take shots of the kids junping with their bicycles; the shutter lag was just too long. I did some searching and found the Olympus E-10, which I loved. When the E1 was released, I purchased the second one sold in Las Vegas.

I did some fashion show shots and decided I liked this type of shooting. I set up a home studio and started looking for models to help me learn studio shooting. I designed a brochure that outlined Time For Prints and started talking with young girls who looked like they may be interested in modeling. Fortunately, I found a couple of models, one in particular who comes over almost every week for a couple hour shoot with me. We both are learning the hard way.

Besides photography, I run a consulting business, basically for industrial process control systems. I get up early, work all day (either photography or consulting) and work well into the evening. I deisgn web sites, and play backgammon and dominoes with people on the Internet.

At least this keeps an old man off the streets.

You can see some of my photos at www.blackcanyonsystems.com/Photography

Lawrence

Post edited by: lkeeney, at: 2005/09/14 00:56

OzRay
09-14-2005, 12:46 AM
Lawrence

Funny you should mention web design. Before digital took hold, I was quenching my creative desires by doing web design as a sideline to normal work (after hours of course).