PDA

View Full Version : Forgot to introduce myself... (Benicia, California)

Ian MacDonald
02-25-2006, 02:11 AM
http://bismac.com/blog/uploaded_images/PC198403-768401.JPG

Originally from Nova Scotia, Canada, have been living here in California now for about 15 years-- all in the San Francisco Bay Area.

I've got a couple of wonderful kids that I terrorize constantly with my camera. My 8 year old son is onto my wily ways but my 3 year old daughter is still happy to oblige any time. Occasionally my wife will let me photograph her as well. As the designated family/friend photographer I, like probably most of you, hardly ever show up in photos. I find it kind of ironic that we end up creating this photographic legacy around us while for the most part remain anonymous.

To pay for my fun, I work as a software engineer for a local computer security company. I love my job but always look for outside detractions to while away what limited free time I have.

I also have way too many hobbies for someone with so little time. My wife simply thinks I'm on a mission to fill the house with junk. I happen to think it's perfectly normal to be on a first name basis with the UPS, DHL, and Fedex delivery folks. However for the last 3-4 years photography has remained my primary passion. I still don't think I'd ever want to do it for a living though.

My best fun so far with photography has been volunteering as the official photographer for my son's youth soccer team and maintaining a related photo website. There's nothing like taking hundreds of photos per session of the same subject to learn how to get better. Lots of practice shooting moving subjects, handling various lighting conditions as well as then dealing with the work flow issues of the large volume of photos. I can't wait to do it again.

I used to spend lots of time reading the Oly SLR forum at DPReview but lately have become quite disenchanted with the deteriorating signal-to-noise ratio over there.