PDA

View Full Version : I've made the switch

ardklg
02-26-2006, 06:54 AM
Another transplant from dpreview...

This morning was the last straw, when Phil started deleting URLs pointing to breaking info about the Panasonic DSLR - my guess is because they pointed to a "competing" review site.

Anyhow, I've recently returned to the hobby of photography after a 20+ year hiatus - I was a photographer for the high school yearbook and paper, and while still in high school took some college-level photography courses. But after high school, when the endless supply of free Plus-X and Tri-X film was no longer available (nor was free access to darkroom facilities and supplies), and I got busy with college classes, I wandered away.

Back in 2000 I got my first digital camera - a C-3000 - and I loved it. But I was a snapshot shooter. Last spring I decided to get back back into more creative photography. I had picked up a C-8080 a few months earlier, but hadn't utilized its potential at all. I haven't been as disciplined about picture taking as I told myself I would be last spring, but I'm working on it.

In late fall I picked up the E-500 2-lens kit after lurking on dpreview for a few months, and because of all the bad influence there I've since ended up snagging an E-1 + 14-54mm at fire sale prices, as well as an E-300 because they are going for such a ridiculous price on the Cameta auctions.

I hope to continue to learn the craft from all the fine folks here.

Kyle

benherrmann
02-26-2006, 06:57 AM