PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

blueridgegirl
03-29-2006, 07:04 AM
Hi, I just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I'm Kerry and I live in Virginia, USA. I recently bought an Olympus e-500 and I'm new to digital SLRs and SLR photography in general (have used a point & shoot all my life). I'm here to soak up the knowledge and collective wisdom of you all. :) This seems like a wonderful forum - friendly, full of knowledgeable people, and easy to read/navigate - and I'm looking forward to participating!

I've found the learning curve for my camera to be steep, but I'm reading up, and experimenting, trying to improve my skills. My main interests in photography are taking pictures of my 3 year old daughter (when she holds still long enough), and "nature." (I'm a tree hugger, I guess!)

Nice to meet you and thank you for sharing all your knowledge with this forum - what a great place!

benherrmann
03-29-2006, 08:25 AM
Just seeing your on-line handle of "blueridgegirl" makes me smile, as that neck of the woods is my favorite area. Although I live in the Raleigh, NC area, we make it a point to visit the blueridge mountains every fall and to me, that's akin to a spiritual experience (the sights, the sounds, the ambience...just all unbeatable).

You'll pick up lots of knowlege here and remember, don't be afraid to ask questions - no matter how stupid you personally feel they may be. There are no such things as stupid questions...just the ones that are not asked.

So good luck with your E500 (it's capable of some great shots) and welcome aboard.

AnnF
03-29-2006, 09:54 AM
Welcome.

I had the opportunity of shooting the blueridge mountains a few months ago when I visited my girls back in GA & NC.:)

Looking forward to some pictures soon.

Ann

radsaq
03-29-2006, 09:56 AM
Welcome. My uncle lives out there in the um.. less-populated parts of VA. Very purty. ;)

E B
03-29-2006, 10:32 AM