PDA

View Full Version : My Long-Winded History

cyrtolite
04-07-2006, 08:53 AM
My long-winded history (thanks in advance for reading):

I’ve been dabbling in photography since the mid 1970s. It’s one of my two major hobbies (the other being mineral collecting). My first SLR was an Argus CR-2. (Argus? What’s an Argus?):? Throughout the 70s, I read about the Olympus OM-1 and, later, the OM-2 and wished I could afford one – so innovative! In the 1980s, I started getting pretty serious about my other hobby, mineral collecting, and I began to develop an interest in finding crystallized specimens of rare minerals. I acquired a microscope and began to accumulate a collection of micromounts (http://www.micromountersofnewengland.org/).

One day, I was in a camera store and I saw an Olympus OM-G. “Hey!”, I thought “Here’s one of those Olympus cameras that I can actually afford!” I bought it and sold my Argus kit. Well the OM-G wasn’t an OM-2 but it was a really nice camera for the price and I thoroughly enjoyed using it when I wasn’t distracted from it by my other competing hobby. Then I happened to notice a microscope adapter in an Olympus OM System catalog and it dawned on me that my two hobbies didn’t need to compete for my attention at all. They could share my attention harmoniously. Best of all, with its Off-The-Film (OTF) metering system (another great Olympus innovation) and its ability to auto-expose up to 30 seconds (60?), the OM-G was ideally suited to this. There would be no guessing at exposure times – just a matter of bracketing by turning the exposure compensation dial.

This was nice but, gradually, photography became just an extension of my mineral collecting hobby. I stopped doing the creative nature photography that I had started with. My lenses fell into disuse, as did whatever skill I had developed. Many years passed.

In about 1999, my sister-in-law asked me to photograph her wedding. Even more surprising: I agreed!:nailbiting: