PDA

View Full Version : Hello

RickK
04-23-2006, 04:29 AM
My name is Rick. I live in NE. Pa. but at the present time I'm spending a 6 month duty assignment in Kosovo. ( Government Employee ). I've been using Nikon Film Cameras (F5 & F80) for the last several years, shooting mainly Macro, Landscapes & Family Pic's with Slide Film and scanning for
print. Because of the cost & waiting for processing plus the time involved in scanning my slides I finally decided to give digital a try. I have a few P&S digital cameras but after using a SLR I just couldn't get use to them.
I was all set to buy a D200 in Feb. Already placed an order with B&H but
by the time my order was processed they were out of stock. So I started
researching DSLR cameras on the net. (way too much time on my hands).
I came across the Oly System and was quite impressed with their From the Ground up Digital System Plus the fact that Panasonic is teaming up with Olympus, and Sigma & Lica have new 4/3 lenses scheduled for release proves to me that the Four Thirds system isn't the dead horse that a lot of people were predicting. So I bought a E-500 SE kit from the local PX here. The E-500 is a really nice camera but I wasn't to excited about the View Finder, the Creaking noise it made when I pressed on the back and the 17.5-45 kit lense. The pictures were great though, the Big LCD was neat, and thought it was still better then the D50 or D70s. Then
I starting reading about the E-1 and the other lenses available from Oly. Placed a bid on E-Bay for an E-1 and won. When I took it out of the box it was Love a First Touch/Sight. So now I had an E-1 but no worthy Glass to match up with it. Purchased the 11-22mm, 14-54mm and the FL-50 I'm (Committed Now !!! ). Once I had the E-1 I knew the E-500 would just sit so I returned it to the PX for a refund, no problem , especially since I paid way more then I should have for it. Then I learned I could use all my nice