PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Oklahoma....

ablessg
05-22-2006, 07:36 PM
I just wanted to drop in and say hello as I plan on spending some time here:D. I am about to be a DSLR newbie later this week. I have an E-300 two lens kit on the way. I did a ton of research and was really torn between the E-500, D50, and the E-300. I finally decided that the best bang for my buck was going to be the E-300. I'm sure it will not let me down.

I've been participating in photography for many years now. I got my first camera, a Kodak 110 slim camera for Christmas one year around age 12. I saved up and bought my first SLR, a Minolta XG-1, when I was 15. That was about 1981 or so. I was on the digital bandwagon from the beginning. I think I spent almost a grand on a Kodak DC-40 in 1995. It is truly amazing how far digital photography has come in just 10 years!! I don't know how many digital cameras I have owned, but I never made the jump to DSLR until I ordered my E-300 last Friday. I am an Olympus fan, though. I have owned 2-3 Olympus digital cameras through the years. I had a 2040 for quite sometime and it was my favorite camera to hook up to my ETX-90RA telescope. I also owned a D-something (650 maybe?) 4mp point and shoot, as well.

I finally stuck with a camera for a while. It was my last camera; a Sony DSC-V1. It took great photos and I thoroughly enjoyed using it over the last 3 years. I am sad to see it move along, but it was time for me to move up to DSLR. Most of my photography over the past 10 years has pretty much just been snapshot photography. With the E-300, I hope to learn more about photography and take higher quality photos.

I'm looking forward to hanging out here for a long time!

timbertoes
05-22-2006, 07:53 PM
Greetings from just across the Red River :)

TooMuchCoffee
05-23-2006, 06:44 AM