PDA

View Full Version : Accessories Aratech Ultimate Ball heaad

tspore
08-01-2006, 02:39 AM
Spec's:
Weight: less than a pound ~ 15 oz. (With RRS Clamp 1.1 lbs)
max weight capacity: 25+ lbs.
Height 10.3 CM
Clamp: Standard clamp with Detention Pin.
Tension control nob: None
Price:$279

Manufacture's site. (http://acratech.net/miva/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=AOS&Product_Code=ubh)

Built:
The Ultimate ball head is my personally favorite ball head. I have been using it for a few years now, as my primary head for my tripod. It is lightweight, and simple. It has taken my abuse over the years. When I get the ball dirty, like covered in mud I am able to easily clean it off. I would recommend this head for anyone who is on a budget but wants the ultimate in ball heads. Its simplicity is the key to this head. The Aratech also has some very nice rubber grips which are great to adjust the ball head with. I love how these feel on the hand, and would recommend them for anyone, they are also big enough to grab if you have gloves on.
You will note in the picture that I had a lever clamp from Really Right Stuff, it holds some advantages and disadvantages. First it is quick to open, and it holds well.
But the traditional clamp has many advantages first it has a detention pin which if the clamp comes loose, it will stop the lens plate from slipping off. Second it is sold with the head. Third it is built very well just like ultimate ball head.
Price: $279

Recommend:
If you don't need, or want a tension release noob then I would recommend this ball head. If you feel that you do, then I would go with either the V2 or the BH-40 from RRS.

Overall Feeling:
If you choose the ultimate ball head you won't go wrong.

BL3
08-01-2006, 10:40 AM