PDA

View Full Version : Other Techniques Feather with legacy lens.



Will Sawtelle
01-12-2008, 08:39 PM
E-510 - Vivitar 90mm f/.8 macro (OM mount) at f/8 or f/11 (gotta start writing these things down).

I found this feather caught in the cedar tree in my yard. This was a much more diffucult shot than I expected. I finally understand some other people's comments about the small view finder on the Evolt cameras.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2367/2187906135_8ac8b4e222.jpg

I think I now need a focusing rail. Any recommendations?

tspore
01-13-2008, 12:15 AM
Was the feather moving in the wind? Perhaps motion blur?

DonR
01-13-2008, 06:05 AM
Will,

I found this the other day and am thinking about trying it. It's about 1/2 price of others I've seen and looks just as good. I've bought filters from them and they were very nice for the price.

http://www.fotodiox.com/shop/product_info.php?products_id=4134&osCsid=c18ece276976be539e65f0154850be08

jebir
01-13-2008, 06:56 AM
Hi Don and Will,

the rail from Fotodiox looks identical to this one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180202281912&ssPageName=MERC_VIC_RSCC_Pr4_PcY_BIN_Stores_IT&refitem=170169861460&itemcount=4&refwidgetloc=closed_view_item&usedrule1=StoreCatToStoreCat&refwidgettype=cross_promot_widget#ebayphotohosting
but the price is $110 higher.

Alec (3Dpan) has the e-bay one and he is satisfied with it.

Cheers, Jens.

Will Sawtelle
01-13-2008, 09:38 AM
There was a little wind, which did affect the shot, but it was only a small increment to the difficulty I had getting down to 1:1 with the Vivitar. I haven't bought a sync cord, yet, so had to be satisfied with ambient light. There probably is a little motion blur in the shot, as well as limited DOF. the real problem I had in setting up the shot was trying to move the whole tripod forward or backward a half-inch to an inch while not changing the framing.

I have made several shots as close as 1:1 with the Vivitar on my OM's, without having as much trouble framing and focusing. I don't use a microprism or split prism focus screen on my OM's, I use a matte with an alighment/composition grid (screen 1-10 for you OM junkies).

I've found several different sets of focusing rails -- Manfrotto, Velbon and the 'generics' above -- and I'm going to try to get one to work with.

Arend
01-13-2008, 11:11 AM
I think indeed a focusing rail will be a big help.
Having to operate a full manual lens without automatic aperture and very narrow DOF is not obvious.
I have just purchased a Kiron 105mm macro and an old OM focusing stage. Already had the focusing rail with my OM Bellows.
To that I have bought a KatzEye screen, not so expensive right now for us Europeans. Finallly I have also bought an old bracket and a Manfrotto flexible arm so I can use my FL-36 flash in a flexible way.

I have not really tested my setup yet, but certainly will once the insects appear again in spring.

3dpan
01-13-2008, 06:16 PM
The macro rail that I have looks the same as in Jens' post above. It's a lot cheaper now than when I bought, 18 months ago.

It works really well, I seem to recall the rails were longer than the competition.

You do have to tighten the clamp screws to reduce the flexibility, though, and the construction does make it difficult to get really close to the ground. But, for the price ...........

If you want to increase your depth-of-field, consider focus blending. See this free software, http://www.hadleyweb.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/CZ5/combinez5.htm

You will really need a rail for that technique.

Cheers,
Alec

Hokuto
04-14-2008, 10:53 PM
The macro rail that I have looks the same as in Jens' post above. It's a lot cheaper now than when I bought, 18 months ago.

I just got mine today, from the Hong-Kong vendor LinkDelight (http://cgi.ebay.com/4-way-Macro-Focusing-Rail-Slider-for-Nikon-Canon-FD-K1O_W0QQitemZ200214620382QQihZ010QQcategoryZ30097Q QssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem). Looks identical. Will have to wait a few days before I have any time to test it. Can hardly wait to see some jumping spiders.