Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: E300 does B&W - neat!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    661
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default E300 does B&W - neat!

    I think it is kind of neat that the E300 does B&W shots. I know it is probably better to convert them in the computer. My Pentax will do them by copying the file and converting to B&W. This is much slower and takes up more memory card room. The bad thing is if I shoot raw the Pentax can\'t do it at all. I was surprised that the E300 can do it with raw files. I want to try this using infrared shots. Makes me want a printer that does B&W better.
    thanks
    barondla

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    1,320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Craig

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    It is neat, but I would recommend that on a SLR that you stick in color. On a compact cam, you could see a live version of what the picture will look like. So it is different. On your SLR it will only show up on the review.
    In addition to using curves there are some other programs which do B+W. Studio, Raw Developer etc.
    T

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Better way to do it in camera...

    Here\'s a better way to do it in camera that I found totally by accident (I skipped this part in the manual):

    First shoot your colour photo. Then go into the menu, select the Play menu (one with the \"play\" arrow). Go down to \"Edit\". You have three options, B&W, Sepia, or resize...each of these will create a NEW image from your original; IOW you\'ll still have your original colour image, but in addition you\'ll have a second image in B&W, Sepia, or resized!

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    I\'m just learning how to use my E-300 (first SLR) and have tried a few B&W.
    Perhaps one of these years I\'ll learn how to do things properly and do the camera justice.
    For the time being, here\'s my first stab at this...

    Post edited by: petaho, at: 2005/09/15 18:38

    Post edited by: petaho, at: 2005/09/15 18:39

    Post edited by: petaho, at: 2005/09/15 18:40

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    Attempt#4-

    Still no luck attaching image.
    Evidently, this is not the place to try to upload a sample for critiques (?) [file name=CapitolReefPP1.jpg size=50788]http://fourthirdsphoto.com/components/com_simpleboard/uploaded/files/CapitolReefPP1.jpg[/file]

    [img size=450]http://fourthirdsphoto.com/components/com_simpleboard/uploaded/files/CapitolReefPP1.jpg[/img]

    Post edited by: petaho, at: 2005/09/15 18:44

    Post edited by: tspore, at: 2005/09/15 20:12

    Post edited by: tspore, at: 2005/09/15 20:41

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:Better way to do it in camera...

    mikefellh wrote:
    Here\'s a better way to do it in camera that I found totally by accident (I skipped this part in the manual):

    First shoot your colour photo. Then go into the menu, select the Play menu (one with the \"play\" arrow). Go down to \"Edit\". You have three options, B&W, Sepia, or resize...each of these will create a NEW image from your original; IOW you\'ll still have your original colour image, but in addition you\'ll have a second image in B&W, Sepia, or resized!

    Mike
    Good tip. I learnt something new about the E-300

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    1,320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Craig

    Default Re:Better way to do it in camera...

    Pethaho here is what you need to do for photo post....
    Put it somewhere on the web such as in the gallery. From there, you add the link. (Right click, copy image address) go to your post, hit the image button, and past the image in, then click image button again.
    T

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    Nice, maybe a little lighter, gr8 whatever anyone says....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    BW is very high impact, read up on Ansell Adams ideas & exposures.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    justApic

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!

    [img size=100]http://fourthirdsphoto.com/components/com_simpleboard/uploaded/images/BWStudy.jpg[/img]

    Post edited by: tspore, at: 2005/09/15 22:17

    Post edited by: tspore, at: 2005/09/15 22:17

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re:E300 does B&W - neat!


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    661
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default uhh oops - now what

    Downloaded my raw B&W shots into rawshooter. Had some nice looking B&W thumbnails. Clicked on one to enlarge and it came out in perfect COLOR! I am not sure how this can happen. I guess in raw you are always shooting in color and B&W just gives a command to show no color? Don\'t know if this would happen with the Olympus program or not. So if you shoot raw you don\'t even need to do the in camera copy deal. There must be some way to make raw shooter look like the thumb nail. No time to try tonight going to the zoo tomorrow with the 350 2.8 and the 180 f2. St. Louis here I come.
    thanks
    barondla :P

Similar Threads

  1. Olympus Studio Control Is Neat Too
    By johnblue3 in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 04:36 PM
  2. Day shot plus sunset.... neat effect.
    By Bill Huber in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2006, 08:46 AM
  3. A betterbounce card,this is a neat deal..
    By kanji in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 09:53 AM
  4. Here's a Neat Gadget -
    By 3dpan in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2006, 11:56 PM
  5. Gallery fills in info... neat.
    By borgunit in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 03:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •