Thread: Ann, about me

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Real Name
    Ann

Default Ann, about me

I was interested in photography at around 12 or 13 years old. My father was always taking pictures with his old wind-up movie camera, Hasleblad-type camera & old Canon 35mm (which I got to use in high school photography class).
    I graduated to the OMG & OM1 about 26 years ago. I also had the Oly XA2 back then. It\'s packed away somewhere now.

When the digital cameras came out, I had the Kodak DC10 for awhile (boy we\'ve come a long way!).
    While back in GA I used to work under a private contractor for the USDA, traveling all over 2 states and I would take my old Olympus C2500L with me and took tons of pictures. I couldn\'t afford to upgrade for a long time and I was waiting for something to come out from Oly with detachable lenses.
    I finally upgraded to the E-1 last year and did a wedding a month later. The recipients were very happy with the results.

My husband of just 2 years was always supportive of my ventures. He had been a pressman for 33 years, so last year (before I got my E-1) we came out with new local post cards for the Capitola/Santa Cruz, Calif areas. They turned out very well and have been selling in some of the shops in the village. I\'m currently talking with the Santa Cruz Boardwalk office about selling photo greeting cards for several of their newest rides. My husband & I went down there some months ago and updated the shots with the E1.

My husband suddenly passed away 12 weeks ago while we were camping north of Auburn, CA. I sold off some of our things and moved up to Vacaville, CA and am staying with my folks for the time being.

I just returned from spending 4 weeks back in GA/SC with my girls and grandkids. It\'s hard to get motivated again, though. My husband was almost always at my side when he wasn\'t working and he was there when I took most of my newest photos. He was always proud of my accomplishments.