Thread: Macro Lens Advice - OM 50mm f2 vs Oly 35mm

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default Macro Lens Advice - OM 50mm f2 vs Oly 35mm

Hi,

Been lurking this forum for some time. Very friendly and informative. Learnt a lot from the postings here. I am a newbie in digital photography having taken the plunge a couple of months ago with a closeout e300 twin lens kit. Recently I purchased the OM adapter from ebay along with an OM 50mm f1.8. Very happy with it. Fast lens and a bit of work no doubt, with the manual focusing and exposure compensation but brilliant and sharp pictures.

I am thinking of meddling around with macro photography and thus advise is needed. Please bear in mind this is the 1st time I will be using a macro lens.

I do not want to spend too much of money on a macro lens. I have now 2 options open, first, I have been offered a used OM 50mm f2 lense for approximately USD130. I have only read good things about this lens but dont know how it'll fair with my e300.

Second option would be to go for the 35mm Macro Oly lens which works out to USD220.

Apart from the obvious fact that the OM will require manual focusing and exposure tweaking what would be the advantage of spending double the amount for the new 35mm?

Any input is highly appreciated.

Sleme

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default I will vouch for the 35mm...

Metering and Aperture Stepping will also be challenges when dealing with the 50mm and manually focusing.

I can point you to 2 posts that favor the 35mm Macro. I own this lens and I will vouch for it.

http://fourthirdsphoto.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=8676

http://fourthirdsphoto.com/vbb/showp...5&postcount=25

There is also a link to a SmugMug Gallery with many many shots that prove the usefulness and strength of this lens.

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default Re: Macro Lens Advice - OM 50mm f2 vs Oly 35mm

Oh, one other thing...