Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: walkabout lens

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Default walkabout lens

I am looking for a small MF lens for walking around shooting whatever. Reasonably close focus would be nice but I can live without it. Its for experimenting. Nice bokeh would be a plus but I am realistic about what is attainable and what isn't.

I was toying with the idea of getting a 50mm f2 Summicron for my E500 but I have no experience with Lecia. If you look on the used market the prices vary tremendously (from ridiculous to affordable). Does anyone have any experience with the differences between the variations? I'd be looking at the cheaper ones.

Alternately are there any OM or other legacy lenses that compare (as in come reasonably close). Just looking for a reasonably fast, sharp lens that won't be $400 or $500 since it is just for some playing around. I also thought of the 40mm Hexanon. They are dirt cheap and I could probably carry out the modification pretty easily. I was also thinking about the OM 50mm 1.8 or the 24mm 2.8. I have an OM adapter so an OM lens would be an easy route.

Kevin

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default Re: walkabout lens

What about the 35mm Macro? It's my favorite walkabout lens mainly due to the small size, light weight and the fact that the front lens element is recessed deep in the barrel. I can sling it over my shoulder with no worries of fingerprints or people in an elevator or on the street bumping into it.

It's only f3.5 but it does have extreme macro capability and can be had for about $200 US

The Bokeh is just OK but as you get closer to your subject it gets better.

Then again you can get an OM to 4/3 adapter and a Zuiko 50mm f1.4 for under $100 US.

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Kevin,