Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Any time lapse options for L1?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Inverness, Scotland
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

    Default Any time lapse options for L1?

    I've seen a couple of options for the E-330 in the form an IR remote and software but nothing for the L1 - the latter comes with the connector to drive it off the mains which makes it more suitable. I was watching the shadows this evening, I'd really like to try taking pictures from sunrise to sunset.

    Thanks,
    John
    Olympus E-1, Olympus E-500, Olympus E-330, Olympus DMC-L1, Olympus E-510, Olympus E-3, 7-14mm,12-60mm, 14-42mm, 14-45mm, 14-50mm(Leica), 14-54MM, Sigma 30mm, 35-100mm, 40-150mm(Mk1), 50mm (macro), 50-200mm, 'Bigma' 50-500mm, EC-14, EC-20, FL-36, FL-50, HLD-4, Lowepro Rezo 140AW, Slingshot 100AW

    Panasonic GF1, GH1, 7-14mm, 14-140mm, 20mm F1.7, DMW-MA1 Nikon D700, 24-70mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4G, 70-200mm F2.8, Fuji F72EXR, Casio EX-FH100


    Though I fly through the valley of death I shall feel no fear, for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In Beautiful So-Cal
    Posts
    6,791
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    20 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    That would be nice. I have contacted a couple companies about it, but they have never gotten back to me.
    I think that we could rig up one of these to work. But I am unsure of how the connection works on the cameras end
    http://www.pclix.com/
    the L1 comes with battery power that hooks up into the camera so I think it would be perfect.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Inverness, Scotland
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Yeah, the battery connector is why I want to use the L1 rather than an Olympus body. Either that or try one minute between pictures, which should be enough time to do a battery swap on the E-330.

    John
    Olympus E-1, Olympus E-500, Olympus E-330, Olympus DMC-L1, Olympus E-510, Olympus E-3, 7-14mm,12-60mm, 14-42mm, 14-45mm, 14-50mm(Leica), 14-54MM, Sigma 30mm, 35-100mm, 40-150mm(Mk1), 50mm (macro), 50-200mm, 'Bigma' 50-500mm, EC-14, EC-20, FL-36, FL-50, HLD-4, Lowepro Rezo 140AW, Slingshot 100AW

    Panasonic GF1, GH1, 7-14mm, 14-140mm, 20mm F1.7, DMW-MA1 Nikon D700, 24-70mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4G, 70-200mm F2.8, Fuji F72EXR, Casio EX-FH100


    Though I fly through the valley of death I shall feel no fear, for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In Beautiful So-Cal
    Posts
    6,791
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    20 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    These little things really make me wish that the system was more universal. For example, I want to use the 14-50mm with aperture ring on the Olympus cameras, or at least swap batteries between both cameras. (Also it would be nice if I could use the supplied AC Adaptor from the L1 with a Oly camera.
    I sent pclix.com another message we will see if they answer. I may pick one up and just rig my own connection, but I am almost guessing that the Rebel connector may work in the camera.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Quote Originally Posted by tspore View Post
    I sent pclix.com another message we will see if they answer. I may pick one up and just rig my own connection, but I am almost guessing that the Rebel connector may work in the camera.
    I emailed pclix a couple of times a few weeks ago asking about the L1 but never heard back. That would be nice if the Rebel connector would work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Inverness, Scotland
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Quote Originally Posted by tspore View Post
    These little things really make me wish that the system was more universal. For example, I want to use the 14-50mm with aperture ring on the Olympus cameras, or at least swap batteries between both cameras. (Also it would be nice if I could use the supplied AC Adaptor from the L1 with a Oly camera.
    I sent pclix.com another message we will see if they answer. I may pick one up and just rig my own connection, but I am almost guessing that the Rebel connector may work in the camera.
    Of course I would like the system to be more standard but you have to bear in mind Panasonic and Olympus are competing so I can see they want to keep some differences. As far as I'm aware, Panasonic have kept battery compatibility with their own previous models although as the design is very similar to Olympus I'm not completely sure about this.

    If Panasonic do release a version of the E-510 at a much lower price point I think Olympus and Panasonic are going to be in proper competition unlike the L1 which didn't really compete with anything. I wonder what happens if Olympus do lose E-510 sales to Panasonic?

    John
    Olympus E-1, Olympus E-500, Olympus E-330, Olympus DMC-L1, Olympus E-510, Olympus E-3, 7-14mm,12-60mm, 14-42mm, 14-45mm, 14-50mm(Leica), 14-54MM, Sigma 30mm, 35-100mm, 40-150mm(Mk1), 50mm (macro), 50-200mm, 'Bigma' 50-500mm, EC-14, EC-20, FL-36, FL-50, HLD-4, Lowepro Rezo 140AW, Slingshot 100AW

    Panasonic GF1, GH1, 7-14mm, 14-140mm, 20mm F1.7, DMW-MA1 Nikon D700, 24-70mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4G, 70-200mm F2.8, Fuji F72EXR, Casio EX-FH100


    Though I fly through the valley of death I shall feel no fear, for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In Beautiful So-Cal
    Posts
    6,791
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    20 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnmcl7 View Post
    If Panasonic do release a version of the E-510 at a much lower price point I think Olympus and Panasonic are going to be in proper competition unlike the L1 which didn't really compete with anything. I wonder what happens if Olympus do lose E-510 sales to Panasonic?
    I think they sell more glass. Olympus has a stack of lenses - if there body sales stay the same or even go down - and are replaced by Panasonic sales of lenses. I think many people will be buying Olympus glass.
    Especially - the 50-200, 35mm, 11-22mm, maybe 50mm.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Inverness, Scotland
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Very good point, I guess good sales for either body end up being good for Olympus as the Leicasonic lens range looks to remain limited for a while.

    John
    Olympus E-1, Olympus E-500, Olympus E-330, Olympus DMC-L1, Olympus E-510, Olympus E-3, 7-14mm,12-60mm, 14-42mm, 14-45mm, 14-50mm(Leica), 14-54MM, Sigma 30mm, 35-100mm, 40-150mm(Mk1), 50mm (macro), 50-200mm, 'Bigma' 50-500mm, EC-14, EC-20, FL-36, FL-50, HLD-4, Lowepro Rezo 140AW, Slingshot 100AW

    Panasonic GF1, GH1, 7-14mm, 14-140mm, 20mm F1.7, DMW-MA1 Nikon D700, 24-70mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4G, 70-200mm F2.8, Fuji F72EXR, Casio EX-FH100


    Though I fly through the valley of death I shall feel no fear, for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    You should also be able to modify one of these.
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...r_TC_80N3.html

    I did a quick search for the wiring on the DMW-RSL1 remote, which has 4 contacts on its plug, usually only 3 are required, but google failed to find anything. So someone might have to but the DMW-RSL1 and work out the connections so other timers can be adapted to it. If you are lucky, the canon XT/350 remotes may be compatable, it is the same size but only 3 contacts. When I got my E500 to work with a remote, I made it compatable with the XT/350 style of remotes so I had lots of choices for remotes.

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,240
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 61 Times in 43 Posts
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    The L1 takes a wired remote, I just received mine (expensive little devil). I am a little reluctant to take it apart since it costs so much, but if it does not have logic in it, it just a simple pair of trigger circuits (one for the AF/metering system and one for the shutter release), then it should be very easy to adapt a Canon Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3 to drive it.

    The TC-80N3 Remote Controller has intervalometer, extended time and extended self-timer functions, it's a very good unit for not a lot of money ($130 or so). It has been adapted to drive a number of cameras (I have one set up with a custom plug to operate my Pentax DSLRs).

    The L1's plug connector is different from the Pentax, which was a disappointment, if it's simple circuits I'm sure you could find it in some electronics supply catalog, then you just have to suss out how the connectors should be wired.

    Godfrey
    www.gdgphoto.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    There are some inexpensive remotes for the L1 on eBay. $15 or so including shipping. I have one and it works fine.

    Now if someone could send me instructions for a novice on how to convert the Canon remote, I might give it a try.

    J

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    The L1 takes a wired remote, I just received mine (expensive little devil). I am a little reluctant to take it apart since it costs so much,
    Godfrey
    www.gdgphoto.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Inverness, Scotland
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Are the ebay remotes shutter release only or timelapse as well?

    John
    Olympus E-1, Olympus E-500, Olympus E-330, Olympus DMC-L1, Olympus E-510, Olympus E-3, 7-14mm,12-60mm, 14-42mm, 14-45mm, 14-50mm(Leica), 14-54MM, Sigma 30mm, 35-100mm, 40-150mm(Mk1), 50mm (macro), 50-200mm, 'Bigma' 50-500mm, EC-14, EC-20, FL-36, FL-50, HLD-4, Lowepro Rezo 140AW, Slingshot 100AW

    Panasonic GF1, GH1, 7-14mm, 14-140mm, 20mm F1.7, DMW-MA1 Nikon D700, 24-70mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4G, 70-200mm F2.8, Fuji F72EXR, Casio EX-FH100


    Though I fly through the valley of death I shall feel no fear, for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    I've only seen shutter relase only, no timelapse. For $15, that seems about right.

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnmcl7 View Post
    Are the ebay remotes shutter release only or timelapse as well?

    John

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,240
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 61 Times in 43 Posts
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Quote Originally Posted by jlabate View Post
    There are some inexpensive remotes for the L1 on eBay. $15 or so including shipping. I have one and it works fine.

    Now if someone could send me instructions for a novice on how to convert the Canon remote, I might give it a try.
    The thing to do is to obtain one of those inexpensive remotes ... for the Panny plug connector ... and one of the Canon remotes. The use a circuit checker to determine which pair of terminals is the half-press and which the full press circuit on each. Once you know that, you cut the plugs off both, then connect the Canon remote up to the Panasonic plug end using your map of which circuits are which.

    It's pretty easy to do.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)

    Default Re: Any time lapse options for L1?

    Thank you Godfrey.

    J

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    The thing to do is to obtain one of those inexpensive remotes ... for the Panny plug connector ... and one of the Canon remotes. The use a circuit checker to determine which pair of terminals is the half-press and which the full press circuit on each. Once you know that, you cut the plugs off both, then connect the Canon remote up to the Panasonic plug end using your map of which circuits are which.

    It's pretty easy to do.

Similar Threads

  1. Time lapse photography
    By stache212 in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 11:13 PM
  2. E500 as a Time Lapse machine
    By downward_spiral in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 06:02 PM
  3. Time lapse w. Studio freezing
    By olddigiman in forum Site Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 10:46 PM
  4. Ice Cube Melting Time-Lapse Rev.2
    By Jamie in forum Photos
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 04:21 PM
  5. Moonset Time-Lapse
    By Jamie in forum Photos
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •