Thread: Oly 'Prime Lens' - advice required please...

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default Oly 'Prime Lens' - advice required please...

I am somewhat stunned to have been asked by someone if I would cover their wedding as their 'official' wedding photographer. They are friends of friends of friends if you know what I mean, and that is how they came to hear of my photographic exploits. They looked at my gallery, spoke to a few people, and called me up. I explained to them that I am not a professional photographer but that as they were stuck for a tog, that I'd do it for them for a very modest fee plus the costs of their prints etc.

Now - here's the part where I need advice.

The lenses I have are the standard Zuiko kit lenses that came with the E-510 and the E-400, plus the Zuiko 50mm macro, plus the excellent Zuiko Prime 11-22mm.

Should I be looking to purchase an additional lens for the wedding work; particularly indoors (it's a registry office wedding), and for portrait shots at the brides home as she gets ready for he big day. if so, can someone advise on what model lens I should be looking to get please...?

Many thanks.
    John
    E-3 | E-510 |
    E-400 | Zuiko 11-22mm Wide |Zuiko 14-54mm |Zuiko 35mm Macro | Zuiko 40-150mm Zoom | Zuiko 14-42mm Zoom | Zuiko 70-300mm Zoom | Zuiko 1.4x Teleconverter |Oly Flash FL-50 | Ordinary Tripod | All complete with bad/inexperienced photographer | My Gallery - www.reflectingme.com - it's getting there!! | My Blog www.MrJohn.co.uk

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Default Re: Oly 'Prime Lens' - advice required please...

The Leica 25mm 1.4 in 4:3 mount would be ideal but it is as rare as hens teeth.
    The next one I would suggest is the Sigma 30 mm 1.4 lens. It should be just what you need in a prime lens for low light and portraits without breaking the bank.

Thanks
    Feedback Score

I would also add to the above, that the 14-54 can be a good 'wedding' lens due to the versatility the zoom adds.