Thread: I'm completely missing something

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

Default I'm completely missing something

Could someone please tell me where to find the rules to all the different contest. Are the assignments just exercises to give us new ideas or are they contest?
    Last edited by DonR; 07-29-2008 at 12:09 PM. Reason: Change text
    DonR -
    Everything is now sold.
    E-30-ME-1/9-18/14-54mkI/40-150mkII/50-200 SWD/70-300/Sigma 50-500/50 f2/EC-14/EX-25/Leica V-LUX 1/TCON 17/Raynox 6600 Pro/FL 50/ Panny DMC-ZS5
    Images at http://donr.zenfolio.com/

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

Default Re: I'm completely missing something

Hi Don:
    I'm new at this too, but I think the monthly contests have their own rules, which are set forth in the announcement. The only three rules that I can recall are 1) you must use 4/3rds equipment, 2) the picture must have been taken within the last 30 days, and 3) only one picture per entrant, although you can make a substitution if you wish. Of course you must format the photo to be less than 800 pixels wide, and navigate the smugmug post, which I personally found to be a challenge.
    I don't think the assignments are contests--they are open-ended in time, and no winners are ever declared. There are no rules or limits that I have run into. I enjoy just trying to come up with something based on a topic chosen by someone else.
    I think this is right, but I'm sure Tony or someone else who knows what they are talking about will set us straight if it's not.
    Talk with you later.
    Erik "Stay thirsty my friends"

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by DonR View Post
    Are the assignments just exercises to give us new ideas...
    Yes.
    Regards,
    Henk
    ---------------------------------------
    photography is my passion
    you are invited to visit my gallery at http://mordisco.smugmug.com

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    13 (100%)