Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    Hi,
    Regarding auto WB, I found some pictures taken in the country side in the shade to be quite bluish.
    But what troubles me the most is the Auto ISO problem.
    I do a lot of wildlife pictures and the Auto-Iso would be really handy, since most times there is not enough time to adjust the ISO manually (sunlit / shade)

    I've taken some pictures with my E-520 on S mode using auto-ISO, it seems that the ISO is selected almost at random when the camera is set to ISO auto. A sequence of pictures of the same subject at the same speed resulted in different ISO and aperture values , some have ISO 100 and others ISO 1600. With the auto ISO the camera seems to select most often iso 100 or iso 1600 when in S mode. In A mode the camera often selects iso 100 or iso 400.
    I attach the exif of a picture:

    ImageDescription - OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
    Make - OLYMPUS IMAGING CORP.
    Model - E-520
    Orientation - Top left
    XResolution - 314
    YResolution - 314
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    Software - Version 1.1
    DateTime - 2009:07:26 14:27:23
    YCbCrPositioning - Co-Sited
    ExifOffset - 194
    ExposureTime - 1/1600 seconds
    FNumber - 7.10
    ExposureProgram - Shutter priority
    ISOSpeedRatings - 1600

    ExifVersion - 0221
    DateTimeOriginal - 2009:07:26 14:27:23
    DateTimeDigitized - 2009:07:26 14:27:23
    ComponentsConfiguration - YCbCr
    ExposureBiasValue - -0.30
    MaxApertureValue - F 4.00
    MeteringMode - Spot
    LightSource - Auto
    Flash -
    FocalLength - 300 mm
    UserComment -
    FlashPixVersion - 0100
    ColorSpace - sRGB
    ExifImageWidth - 3648
    ExifImageHeight - 2736
    InteroperabilityOffset - 662
    FileSource - DSC - Digital still camera
    CustomRendered - Normal process
    ExposureMode - Manual
    White Balance - Auto
    DigitalZoomRatio - 1.00 x
    SceneCaptureType - Standard
    GainControl - High gain up
    Contrast - Normal
    Saturation - Normal
    Sharpness - Soft

    The subject was a dragonfly filling half of the frame (center) with soft bouquet.
    The camera should have selected ISO 400 and F5.6.


    Regards,
    Joaquim Muchaxo.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,128
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

    Default Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    About the EXIF info you posted: If you are in S mode, the shutter speed is whatever you select, the camera will select the aperture and ISO to work with that shutter speed. However, I do find it strange that the camera boosted the ISO to be able to use a smaller aperture (though that aperture is only 2/3 stop or so down from max at 300mm - but it may be that the camera is programmed to stop down a little if it can boost ISO).

    But why would you use auto ISO in the first place? Select the ISO manually, and change it if you need more sensitivity to get the shutter and/or aperture you need.
    ODM
    ----------------
    Recent photos: http://www.ahfairley.com/gallery/index.html
    http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...2&l=fad9c02a1f
    E-10, E-M5, 20mm, PZ 14-42mm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    16 (100%)

    Default Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    should i be worried with spot metering?

    S

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    1,228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    Given the selected shutter speed I can't see that the camera could have made any other choice. It couldn't have used ISO 800 because that would require an aperture of F4.5 which the 70-300 can't do at 300mm. Maybe you shouldn't have forced it to use a shutter speed of 1/1600?
    Best wishes

    Paul

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,266
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    400 @ 5.6 doesn't not provide the same exposure as 1600 @ 7.1 - which is why is wasn't selected.

    if you had used an E3/30 it would have had the option to select 1000/1250 @ 5.6 and would probably have done so
    E-P1/E3/E30/E510/E400/7-14/12-60/14-42/14-54/S 30 1.4/35/35-100/40-150/50/50-200/EC14/EC20/EX25/2xFL50R/FL36R/RF11/SHV-1/AC-1/AC-2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    Ok, I believe this is due to spot metering, since I was hand holding the camera and metering on each exposure.
    I got it wrong, I thought each step of aperture was an f-stop , in fact it is 1/3 step.

    I was used to the "spot" metering of my old canon digital rebel that as a larger metering area . For my application I find that the area of spot metering of the e-520 too small and the center-weighted too large.

    Thank you all for you precisous help. I learned that I should use manual ISO or set the higher ISO limit smaller ( 400 or 200 ).

    Regards,
    Joaquim Muchaxo.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    East Bay, California
    Posts
    1,510
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: E-520 iso auto problem and auto WB problem

    I have my 520 ISO limit to 400 and that works quite well for me.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •