Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I could use some help/information!

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Question I could use some help/information!

I am far from new to photography, but I am new to this format. There are a lot more differences than I was aware of and I keep tripping over them. I just got the second lens for my Pen E-PL1, the 40-150mm zoom. While I was aware that the "effective distance" for this format vs. slr was 2X, I did NOT know that effectively, F stops change too and that effectively, one will get the same DOF at F4 that one got in SLR at F8. Which explains a lot of fuzzy pictures that resulted from super slow shutter speeds when I was trying to work in what I thought was reasonably good light (bright, overcast) using aperture preferred at F8. I wound up with shutter speed as low as 1/8 sec., which even with IS is way below what I could even in my prime (many years ago!) hand hold.

So now that I have this effectively very long and rather slow zoom, I have a strong feeling that there is more I don't know than I do know and I am not sure where to get the knowledge I need.

I have been recently limited in my experimentation by being too sick to go out and do much, but hopefully that's a temporary issue. Is there a book? Books? Website? Someplace where essential basic information that explains the differences in the two systems in plain English is available? I live WAY out in the boonies, so the local library is not a big help. I think i donated most of their books myself.

Suggestions? Information would be VERY VERY much appreciated! I have the Olympus PEN E-PL1 with the newer 14-42mm and now the 40-150. I hope that I get richer and can get just one really super Leica lens. Have my eye on the not-yet-available 25mm prime. Meanwhile, I have what I have. Oh, still waiting delivery of the VF-2 viewfinder.

Best,

Marilyn

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Default Re: I could use some help/information!