Thread: Experience Replacing Screen on an E-PL1?

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Default Experience Replacing Screen on an E-PL1?

Hi Group,

Me: I'm a noob to this group, but I've been shooting four thirds for 5 years how on an E-410 kit and, later, an E-PL1. I'm in Canada (west coast). They are both small and shoot well enough for what I need them for.

Summary of Issue: I'm hoping the peeps on this forum can help me learn:
    • (a) what it means when a replacement lcd says "no backlight,"
    • (b) if anyone has any experience replacing the LCD on and E-PL1,
    • (c) is there a repair manual for the E-PL1 floating around the net
    • (d) and possibly, anyone have any tips on unsticking the E-PL1 shutter?

Narrative Background: After a couple of years of service and being well past warranty, my E-PL1's shutter started sticking every 20 or so shots. Not sure why but I dared not just squirt some WD40 into it. I took to gently but firmly tapping the camera flat on its back on a hard surface like a book, and it would unstick and I could shoot again - mostly with that awesomely craptastic BCL-1580 plastic body cap lens, which really makes shooting fun since it makes every shot a creative and compositional salvage operation.

Anyhow, and in hindsight, inevitably, I tapped the camera on a not-flat enough surface (the dash of my Honda, which sure seemed flat) and the LCD screen cracked mid-way on the left side. The outer casing is not cracked at all, but the LCD is shot - it partly displays, but its grainy, though it lights up. I'm tempted to just junk the E-PL1 or sell it for parts, since it has 2 major problems - but it still shoots quite nicely and I've still been able to get some really nice night time time lapse shots out of it. I'm wondering if its worth a shot at fixing - might be a learning experience to try since its kinda shot anyway.