Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: EM1 Noise?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default EM1 Noise?

    Does it seem like the EM1 raw files have a strange looking fine speckled dots at full zoom to those using it? not sure if you call it noise or artifacts or what but it seems to be worse than the ME5 on raw files to me, maybe even worse that E5 I have to go back and look at some other files, but at even only ISO 400 the raw files seem to be speckled with dots to me when zooming before processing, very hard for me to get rid of them in NR on LR without softening the image as well, not bad at a full frame but If I crop I still notice it after processing. I have NR off, but I didnt think NR is used in raw anyway? or should I have something turned on?

    here is an example, full crop not edited raw 400ISO

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	harrier-2.jpg 
Views:	194 
Size:	216.8 KB 
ID:	47238
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    I've not experienced anything like that.

    I had a bunch of indoor shots over Christmas at 2000ISO with minimal noise.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5,135
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by JimUSNY View Post
    here is an example, full crop not edited raw 400ISO
    What software are you using?
    flickr | "God made the integers; all else is the work of man" - Leopold Kronecker

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomsi42 View Post
    What software are you using?
    well I use LR and sometimes PSP, but this is a raw file with no editing
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5,135
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    When you open the RAW file in a program, some basic processing is done on that file - it can be that the EM-1 profile isn't good or corrupt. So the visual results is not nice.
    flickr | "God made the integers; all else is the work of man" - Leopold Kronecker

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    658
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    When in doubt use the manufacturer's recommended software and then compare.
    Cameras:E-5; E-3; E-1; E-620; GH-1
    Lens: 12-60mm 50mm f/2; 50-200swd; Ex-25; 70-300; 40-150mkI; 35mm f/3.5; 25mm f/2.8; 14-140 u43
    Lights: Fl36Rx2; Fl50R; FL50; Elinchrom 2x400ws radio controlled.

    Click on the image to see my Facebook page
    And while you are at it, Like it if you like it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by darkesha View Post
    When in doubt use the manufacturer's recommended software and then compare.
    OK I imported this with LR, I will see what the raw looks like in Viewer, but I am not sure I can save a file from raw with no editing in Viewer? seems like this really just started happening a couple weeks ago when LR went Full support on EM1, but I did not apply profile
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    OK when I open in veiwer it auto applys the in camera settings to the raw file when exporting, however if I turn Noise Filter to off, it looks pretty much exactly the same as LR, so LR isnt applying any Noise filters, Veiwer is way way to slow for me to use. Maybe I should just shoot jpgs
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5,135
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Which LR version are you using - 5.3 or 5.3RC?

    You should check if there are some defaults applied when importing that can screw up the result - i.e. turning the NR to off.
    flickr | "God made the integers; all else is the work of man" - Leopold Kronecker

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Just looked at my settings in camera, NR is set to off and grayed out so I cant turn it on, although I didnt think it was used with Raw anyway, I ran into this before... I hate to do a full reset again and have to reset all my settings, I think there are bugs in the firmware still OLy isnt aware of, just like turning on lever function makes MF disappear as a choice in button functions
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5,135
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Since it a RAW file, that setting should have nothing to say on this.
    flickr | "God made the integers; all else is the work of man" - Leopold Kronecker

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,240
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 61 Times in 43 Posts
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Just like with the E-5, I set the Lightroom defaults for E-M1 .ORF files to be Sharpening: 0 instead of Sharpening: 25. That eliminates most of the artificial "grain" that too much sharpening applied to a no- or light-AA camera produces. I find my files usually need only very very light input sharpening (up to about 12-15 on the scale), unless I missed slightly on the focus setting.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate NY on the Hudson River
    Posts
    3,229
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    Just like with the E-5, I set the Lightroom defaults for E-M1 .ORF files to be Sharpening: 0 instead of Sharpening: 25. That eliminates most of the artificial "grain" that too much sharpening applied to a no- or light-AA camera produces. I find my files usually need only very very light input sharpening (up to about 12-15 on the scale), unless I missed slightly on the focus setting.
    You got it! thats what was doing it, when I apply my my presets that all changes, but on import it defaults to 25 of radius 1, which I forgot all about as everything else is off.. so thats why my raws were looking like this before processing.. thanks!
    OMD EM-1, m12-50MM, OLY 12-60MM, OLY 50MM macro, EC-14, Nikon D7200 and D7100, Nikon 300MM F4 PF Nikon 1.4X II Nikon 80-400MM AF-S- G, Sigma 150-600MM C, Sigma 17-50MM
    Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimusny/

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,240
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 61 Times in 43 Posts
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Glad to help.

    I find this this is a common error .. Light- and no-AA filter sensors require different raw processing basics; same solution for the E-5, M9 and now E-M1. It's very easy to over-sharpen with these cameras.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by JimUSNY View Post
    OK when I open in veiwer it auto applys the in camera settings to the raw file when exporting, however if I turn Noise Filter to off, it looks pretty much exactly the same as LR, so LR isnt applying any Noise filters, Veiwer is way way to slow for me to use. Maybe I should just shoot jpgs
    I took an exposure of a lit up tennis court
    because I wanted star shaped lights I opted for a tight aperture ,a round f/11 - f/16
    that made a 5 sec exposure.

    The exposures in jpeg had white speckles all over the sky of the image, and no they werent stars

    somethings adrift here
    Riley

    Olympus User, Pro Photographer since 2003

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5,145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 117 Times in 102 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    You can get the same sort of speckles in LR using adjustment brushes if you have Auto Mask turned on, especially if you are trying to lift shadows.
    Are you also using LR, Riley?
    I think as pixels get smaller, and AA filters begin to disappear, there will be less need for sharpening as more fine detail will have been captured.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: EM1 Noise?

    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Bradley View Post
    You can get the same sort of speckles in LR using adjustment brushes if you have Auto Mask turned on, especially if you are trying to lift shadows.
    Are you also using LR, Riley?
    no
    all I can do is select part of the image and hit it with the highest NR I can
    Riley

    Olympus User, Pro Photographer since 2003

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •