Thread: metabones & canon 400/5.6 purchase question

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

Default metabones & canon 400/5.6 purchase question

Hello,

I have been following the discussions about the Metabones smart adapter and the canon 400/5.6 lens.
    I now have some extra cash and am ready to buy something. Should I buy the items new or used (Ebay)?
    What do I need to look out for to get the best if buying used.

Thanks,
    John B

Thanks
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Default Re: metabones & canon 400/5.6 purchase question

Hi John,
    I know nothing about the Metabones adapter, or even the Canon lens, apart from what I've learnt from Daniel's comments.
    OTOH, I've been trading on eBay for several years now and they have a very good buyer protection program.
    Also, I have read somewhere that since the popularity of m4/3, and the proliferation of lens adapters for a huge range of brands, that used lens prices have gone 2X even 3X that of a few years ago. That's the asking price from "dealers". Actual auction prices don't seem to be near as high.
    I don't have any specific numbers to quote on that.
    So, don't be afraid to buy eBay, just have a good look at the prices.
    Cheers,
    Alec
    Twin E-620/70-300mm/14-42mm/pinhole lens, plus 8mm FE, Tokina AT-X 90mm macro, and Zeiss 500/8 mirror.

Thanks
    Feedback Score

Hi John,
    The "old" 400/5.6 is a relatively simple, trusty workhorse. If the seller can guarantee its functionality, not much can go wrong. There is always a certain risk involved, but you can also get a lemon new. There is, as with nearly every lens type made by every company, a bit of variance. There are good ones and not so good ones. The differences are VERY slight... not something you should have to worry about. Apparently Canon made a huge leap in this respect with the Mark II 100-400 zoom. They say you don't even have to test them; all good right off the shelf. Stunning lens, but twice the cost of the 400/5.6.